Black Mountains Blips

By Hanneke3

Velo Vintage Barnstaple

My cycling friend Alistair takes a liking to organising cycling events involving vintage bicycles transporting one back to a bygone age where the pace of life was slow and civilised.

Having attended one of the very early events, on my 1952 Raleigh Lenton Sports Ladies Cycle, all dressed in 50s gear, including hat and high heels, I had never been able to make one since, until today that is.

It was a fab event, almost 200 people turned up, while we had about 30 when I first went along! All dressed up in period costume riding bikes of varying age and interest. I took about 200 photo's, then whittled them down to 139. Currently uploading to Flickr to share with my fello cyclists.

It was a great day! Sun, cycles, civilised company, cream teams, cider and a curry, peppered with live jazz and 50s music.

When is the next one?

Oh, this time I rode my recent farm sale aquisition, a believed to be 1972 Raleight men's racing cycle. I dressed in vintage Raleigh kit, thinking about the bygone era of Dutch cycling, as Raas, Zoetemelk Post and I think several others rode for the famous TI-Raleigh Race Team in the early 70s.

P.S. I bought some raffle tickets, in aid of McMillan Nurses and guess what? I won! I had the first choice of prizes and chose a little Kodak Brownie, with case, in very good nick. Now I need to find some film for it and next time I can take photo's in style :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.