What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Watendlath Tarn

Please look LARGE!!!

A great day, I was torn between three pictures for todays blip. this one, taken from the Ashness landing stage on Derwentwater, this one, of a fly-thing (any advice on the scientific name greatly appreciated) and this shot of Watendlath tarn. I was tempted to do the Ashness one, but one of my guests, Catchapman, who has just signed up to blip, posted a similar shot, so the tarn it was.

Watendlath is one of my favourite locations on the planet, let alone in the Lakes, and by permission of the sheep farmer (Shaun!!), was allowed round the back of the tarn (NO public access) to take this shot. I really liked the fact that the polarising filter allowed a clear view of the lily leaves underneath the water as well as above, and gave a hint of how quickly the tarn shelves off, and becomes deep.

Forecast wet for tomorrow, with better weather for the beer dfestival on Friday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.