Black Mountains Blips

By Hanneke3

Monnow Monday: Water

I had a choice... either go for the single water drop hanging off the top bar of the gate, or the forceful waterflow through the small waterfall accross the field from the River Monnow... I wanted the Monnow itself, but it looks meek, still and peaceful. No reflection on its usual power!

I associate water with life, giving life to plants and all other living beings. I also find it really intimidating. Especially the force of the sea and white water in rivers.

My chapel and field are sandwiched between the river Monnow and the Olchon brook. Brook is a desceptive name for this stream, as it is almost as big and can be even wilder than the Monnow when in full spey after heavy rainfall. Luckily, I am just outside the floodplains of both rivers but I always hear them, which I love. Just one field further from mine, the Olchon joins the Monnow and onwards it flows to join the Wye in Monmouth. 

Monnow and Olchon originate not far from each other, in the wilds of the Olchon valley on either side of Black Hill. I haven't told you how beautiful and remote it is here, have I? No need to come and find out for yourself...

Right, time to sit by the foootbridge and see if the otters are there yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.