guineapigmum

By guineapigmum

Lewis shielings

I seemed to take a lot of photographs today. We walked out along a truly beautiful beach on the east side of Tong Saltings to survey some stations along it and I have photos of waves and oyster catchers and shells and wide expanses of sand. And we had a much better visit to the standing stones at Callanish, managing to visit all three sets of stones in evening sun. I've got a lovely picture of a redshank on seaweed. But I like this one. It's one of a series of huts on the moors between Stornoway and the west coast of the island and I loved the colours of this one. I think it's known as a shieling - a hut where farmers used to go in the summer to let the sheep graze new areas. I doubt that it's used for that purpose now but it certainly provides a blaze of colour on a very brown landscape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.