Vuna

After a pretty miserable afternoon with rain settling in I had little time for a Blip. I had to wait while electricians finished wiring up a power supply for our new soil steriliser and by that time I'd decided to find something on the short walk up the garden to the house. Then I chanced on 'Vuna'.
 
Most of the tender scented Maddenia rhododendrons for which Arduaine is famous are white, with a few flushed pink or occasionally pale yellow. More recent crosses in New Zealand and California have produced a better range of colours of which 'Vuna' is one. I had hoped to comment on its unusually complex parentage, but couldn't find the info. You're probably quite glad!

I obtained this plant as cuttings from California some years ago and it's been flowering for a while now. Not as fragrant as some, but scented enough for the passer-by to catch a whiff.

Most of our super-smelly rhododendrons are still to come, so don't forget to come in and see them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.