Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

Delicate Little Beauty!

I simply cannot believe the number of different moths and butterflies I have seen around our house this year! Or perhaps I am just looking a bit harder?

I was up really early this morning. Thank you Cardinal who sits in the trees and sings to his heart's content early each morning! This morning, it was around five o'clock. I could have screamed, but didn't. I had gone to bed after midnight, so the night was far too short. Yes, I could close the window, but fresh air is so nice while sleeping!

I wandered down with Murphy and prepared some food for my lad. As he was eating, I went out the back door just to enjoy the fresh morning. I noticed a semi large moth on the door jamb, so I flicked it off with a pool toy. It was only when I set the toy down on the floor that I saw the moth was rather extraordinary....it's coloring was yellow and its wings had two large "eye" patterns on them.

I decided I had better get Murphy outside, then I would photograph the moth. Dumb mistake!!! After taking Murphy out, I returned to the back deck, armed with two different cameras. The only problem was, the moth was gone. Vanished.

I was grossly disappointed!

Late this morning, I looked at a patch of wild black raspberries. They have pretty white flowers on them now and they were full of butterflies!

And so, instead of a striking moth, here is a butterfly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.