The Mad Tea Party*

Some days everything seems to relate to what is going through my mind in one way or another. I have been thinking a lot about why, as a society, have we become so nasty to each other? Rude, snarky comments on social media, TV news stories about guns, bombs and fear, the paralyzing polarization of politics, even allowing "busyness" to be an acceptable reason for all kinds of rude behavior.

As I was driving across town this morning, I was listening to an interview with T.C. Boyle, one of my favorite authors. He looks like a wild man, speaks like a most level-headed sane man, and is one of the most versatile writers I have ever read. In his latest book, The Harder They Come  he explores the darker side of the American psyche…love of guns, the roots of racial violence, and an evolving culture of contempt in today's society. I see it in reality television, on social media, and even in the news.  Nastiness, polarization, and an unwillingness to have an open dialogue with those with whom we disagree are becoming the norm.

Later today I passed a gallery  that is showing an exhibition of Grace Slick  (formerly of Jefferson Airplane fame) paintings entitled, The Mad Tea Party. Since the gallery wasn't open, I took a few pictures through the window. The one I chose today is a take-off on a 70's print ad for stereo speakers, but it was her explanation of her work in this particular exhibition,  loosely based on Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures on Wonderland that struck a cord….

Perhaps that is one reason I feel so attached to Blipfoto and all the people I have met. We all have our opinions, but don't find it necessary to be rude and nasty to each other.

*In Wonderland, the cultural customs still exist - tea parties, friendships, wars, etc But the book rips the pretension off the rulers and shows the futility of pride, pomp and posing. Alice…is brave enough (as most of us are) to continue questioning and trying to reason with the characters of humanity.
-Grace Slick

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.