Familiar scene

There it is, the coffee cups out, the coffee maker set for 5:30am, just like it is done every night after clearing the sink and before bedtime. This is our tenth year in this house. It feels much more like home than any other place we've lived. Perhaps the sheer amount of work we have done, ourselves, on the inside and outside, have something to do with that.

I finally got around to sweeping the debris out from between the pavers and re-sanding. What a pain-in-the-ass job. Every time I have to do it, I am reminded of the words of the landscaper who installed the pavers. "Agh, it is EASY to take care of. Every FEW years you'll just have to sweep approximately A CUP of polymeric sand into the FEW places where the rain has washed it out. And NOTHING will be able to sprout in that special sand in the cracks."

I'd like to sweep about a cup of sand into his crack and see what sprouts. Sorry, that's not nice but he clearly pushed for the pavers because it meant more money for him and his crew.

But far be it from me to hold a grudge-back to the restful, sleepy kitchen for a small sip of water and off to dreamland I go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.