Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Dereliction

Our local hospital, Forth Valley Royal Infirmary, was opened a few years ago in the grounds of a former hospital, the Royal Scottish National Hospital. RSNH was home to 1300 people with learning disabilities, some of whom I knew and worked with in the 1980s as these institutions began to close. The history of RSNH is being recorded and archived by the University of Stirling. Apart from the ruinous RSNH, seen here in my photo and the state of the art new hospital, there is a small loch where I went for a walk today. Last time I was there you could walk right round the loch but today I couldn't as to my delight I found a building site which will by next spring be a Maggie's Centre for the area http://nhsforthvalley.com/tag/maggies/

I suppose it's always a bit sad to see buildings brought low but RSNH had more than outgrown its purpose by the time it finally closed and wasn't missed, or not by the people I knew who'd lived there anyway

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.