Train spotting

Rummaging through wardrobes in search of an old camera of mine I rediscovered my old train set which has to be over 55 years old at least. A reminder of the days when you had hours of fun watching a beautifully rendered model train go round in circles.

A grandiose plan back in the day to extend and build a network of track running several types of train all at the same time and set in a sculptured landscape of hills, trees, tunnels and goods yards quickly disappeared on my entrance to high school and an introduction to football, pop music and girls – probably in that order.

A great reminder of days past when toys weren't made entirely of plastic and were built to last. Somehow I just can't bring myself to get rid of it so I've put it back in the wardrobe until such times as I rediscover it and I can start the reminiscing once again. 

I don't think I was ever as happy as the boy in the picture though.

Song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.