SOUTH SHIELDS

Had a trip out to the coast today.  Went to Gateshead first and then got the Metro to South Shields.  Mooched around the shops for a bit and then walked along the aptly named Ocean Road to the sea.

Ocean Road is home to many bed and breakfast establishments, fish and chip shops and Indian restaurants.  Its quite a long road but I didn't mind the walk - more steps for me.

There were a few folk on the beach but the weather wasn't all that nice.  Bit chilly and a bit windy.  The funfair seemed more busy. 

At 4pm - just as I was making my way back to the Metro station - the sun came out and the rest of the day was really nice.  

I found my blip shot at the end of Ocean Road.  Its something I remember from my childhood.  We used to go to South Shields whenever we had a day out at the seaside.  My Mam was born there so I guess this was why she she liked to go back. The lifeboat is The Tyne -  Britain's second-oldest preserved lifeboat.  The oldest one is on show in Redcar  but was built in South Shields. The Tyne lifeboat was built in 1833 and in its 54 year career saved 1,054 lives.  The boat and its canopy have been on this spot since the 1930's. They were both restored in 2013. 

Also in my shot are the Jubilee Clocktower and Wouldhave Memorial.  The clocktower was erected in commemoration of the Jubilee of H M Queen Victoria  in 1887.  William Wouldhave (1751–1821) is a rival of Lionel Lukin for recognition as inventor of the lifeboat.

Steps today - 11,807

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.