Galloping English Ladies of Mindelheim Tractor

Who said tractors were just for boys. This Eicher tractor is one of three purchased by the "English Ladies of Mindelheim", a Jesuit based religious order founded in the 1600s by the English nun, Mary Ward. In the UK they were referred to as the "Galloping Girls", on the Continent as "The English Ladies". More correctly they are "The Congregation of Jesus" or since 1900, "Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary".

The Blip was taken at "Klosterwald" (Abbey Wood) which I Bliped almost exactly a year ago. The site of a church from at least the 12C, it was then a nunnery, plundered by the French army in 1800, desecularised, a private home and hunting lodge, then bought by the Galloping Girls and turned in to a school for girls. Not sure exactly when they gave it up but at least going in 2000.

I need to find out more about what it really is now. Seems to be a combination of various things much connected with the social and personal development of young people and there is also a drugs therapy unit. Amongst other things, a cafe and we need to visit.

Was trying out a new walk and the turning point meant walking past the buildings. Saw the Eicher and went to photograph it as someone appeared to drive it away. Asked if I could Blip and got into a long, very interesting talk with one of the staff. He said I was welcome to come back and Blip the other two Eichers which the nuns had bought to use on the farm which was part of the unit.
 
I am not trying to suggest the tractor is from the 1600s but I do need to check out the exact model number of the Eicher. I saw "Tiger" on the side but the person I spoke to, reckoned it was from 1958 but was unsure. When I checked it out at home, this would make it an Eicher "EM200 Tiger " which was built until 1962 and made way for the "EM200/2 Tiger" that year. I am pretty sure from the photos that this is an EM200/2 Tiger. Need help from Dr Bulldog whose Eicher I Bliped a few weeks ago. an Eicher "Bengal Tiger", a bigger number.

If it is a 200/2 then it was one of 3018 built from 1962-8. Two-cylinder air-cooled Eicher diesel, 1963cm³, 28HP, 1500kg weight and rear lift hydraulics capable of 850kg.

Back home ...... yes chainsaw and tractor and logs and branches.

At 16:00 had to set off for Memmingen and do some errands for madam before a check-up appointment at the Urologist at 17:00. Quite a wait, not surprising as they were closed last week. Ultrasound confirmed docs concern before Easter and that antibiotics were called for even if I had to break it off after 3 days rather than do the full 6-day course - I react badly to many antibiotics. However, it worked and the swelling in the waterworks was gone. Had probably been due to all the ops in the last 5 months. However Doc not happy with my kidney stone over productivity and about my general health. Not his business but typical for him, he made an appointment for me with an internist he knows and will speak to. The urologist is the only Doc I know who looks at the "big picture". I am very grateful to him as I have more or less lost trust in any doctors.

Got home late but luckily Angie had managed a ride out and Flash even managed the runout. Angie would have liked to have gone further/faster on yet another lovely warm evening.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.