The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Songkran Day 2

In the morning I went to pick up my laundry and got a very panicked reaction from the lady. She doesn't speak any English so had to call over her friend who translated. For the first time ever, she'd lost a bag of laundry. She thinks another tourist took it. She was close to tears and couldn't stop apologising. She asked me to name a price for her to pay me. Luckily it was only a small bag I'd given in, but it still had some fairly expensive clothes and ones that had sentimental value. I eventually decided on £20, which is only a tiny fraction of what I lost but I didn't want to ask for too much. At least I can buy some new t-shirts.

After lunch, Jess and I went to the East gate of the Old City and found huge crowds partying in the streets, everyone soaking wet of course. The North gate had mean mostly Thai people but this area was definitely where the westerners were. It was such a great atmosphere.

In the evening I met up with my friend Michelle from back home and we went to a massive party in an area with loads of bars grouped together. There were thousands of people, I haven't seen such a big party here outside of Phi Phi and Koh Phangan. It felt like we were at a music festival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.