wsjohnson

By wsjohnson

Sometimes we're just lucky

So like I placed my taxes in the mail earlier today and to my surprise, not only were no coffee and doughnuts on offer, there wasn't a line this year either!

I have no idea what that truly means, perhaps everyone else has their accountants and minions take care of this most mundane (yet important) of American tasks: mailing your return on "tax-day"

She is forever bewildered by the "last minuteness" of it all, as if back in England everyone has their Forms completely done and mailed weeks in advance of the deadline. (My arse they do!)

So today there were no Uncle Sam types on stilts, no political campaigners with petitions to change or abolish the tax code, nope, not even the usual 'homeless' panhandler or pathetically searching for a comment TV news crew.

Just me and my forms, doing my duty . . . there will be no penalty, or reform for this guy!

This bright fellow was found growing outside the car park, braving the glorious California sunshine!

All is right in the world once more

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.