Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Kaiteriteri Beach but not as you know it

While the carpet cleaner was busy at our house today Mr S suggested we went to the beach for coffee. Well I couldn't say no to that. Being school holidays and a beautiful sunny day there were quite a few people there but our biggest surprise was seeing that the shop had been demolished to make way for a new one more suitable for the big numbers that stay in summer.
I caught the demolition in the background with an information panel showing what the beach looked like in 1940's in the foreground. I know the year because that is my father on the left and my mother in the front on the right. The other women will be workers on Dad's tobacco farm. He always took them boating or fishing on weekends. The other photo was taken a year or two earlier when the bridge was put in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.