The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Llanishen Baptist Church

For the second time in almost as may days I have had a bit of a day in the car ...

It was back into the office proper today for the first time in a fortnight. Plenty to do and catch up on.

This evening I had the next day on my bird talks tour! Tonight I was in the splendid venue of Llanishen Baptist Church. Well I was ... eventually!

We got there in plenty of time .. I had the venue written in my diary, and I had spoken to the person who had booked me at the weekend to confirm everything.

We turned up the church and wandered in .. to find a girl guides meeting going on ... hmm .. this wasn't right me thinks ... So I asked if there was a WI meeting here tonight and the lady taking the group said, no ... they meet at the other smaller parish church. This was a problem as I didn't know where that was ... once again the iPhone map app came to the rescue and we found it. There was another girl guides meeting just finishing. As we walked into the hall one of the people there said, are you supposed to be doing a talk at Llanishen Baptist Church, they've accidentally sent you away. I was now totally confused.

The lady who booked me turned up and said ... you were supposed to be at Llanishen Baptist Church it is all a mistake ... I had confused them by asking if the WI were there .. turns out this wasn't a WI I was doing a talk too but a church group.

I dashed back to the first venue and there was much embarrassment all round! It helped break the ice and I did one of my better talks, it flowed rather nicely.

A great crowd and a great night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.