Blip Rescue

Upon downloading the day's data I always review at night. Last night some measurements didn't look right. There was no ambiguity a handful of measurements had positions in the sea off Lands End several hundred miles from our site on the upper reaches of the Spey. I always doubt myself in such circumstances and returned to the spot today to repeat a slightly odd ball method of laser measurement which relies heavily on "on the fly" software number crunching to get the answers. A software upgrade presents a slightly different interface but I went through the steps again and got exactly the same results. Clearly the software upgrade has broken something and this was confirmed by a tech support man on the phone before I left the site. I had a workaround which was less slick.
In between a man stopped at the road side and called me by name. I thought I was going to get a row for putting my hard hat on the ground while making the phone call. It was a guy from my class in school I probably last met face to face in about 1980; though we are in regular contact on social media. We had a good blether of course and I was envious of Paul (on a few days off) being in the area to bag some new Munros. Our respective hill walking accumulation has followed a similar profile; stopping for about sixteen years and then starting again. (I restarted last week) He was doing well and looks just the same. Hopefully he will call in when he is next passing this way.

I was home without a click of the camera so Caley came to the blip rescue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.