The Old Power Station

On my Thursday lunchtime walk around Tonbridge I spotted this rather splendid building called “The Old Power Station” which gave me a clue as to its original purpose.   The building is Grade II listed and now offices but many original features such as hoists are still attached to the outside.   As power stations go, it is very attractive and a nice surprise nestled between car parks and new housing. I was challenged by a lady from the new houses as I looked around who thought I must be lost. We ended up having quite a conversation about the building and she joined me in my snooping.
Its unusual design sent me off to the internet to see what I could find: - it was built in 1902 and provided electricity to Tonbridge until 1951.  The design was influenced by Charles Voysey a textile designer cum architect and champion of Arts & Crafts style industrial buildings.  From 1975 until 1989 the building was a museum of exhibits of early electrical generating machinery from the South Eastern Electricity Board which are now housed in the Amberley Museum near Arundel in Sussex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.