Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

At Summerhall

I went to a talk this evening with T given by Tim Jarvis entitled "The Story of the Shackleton Epic". Tim Jarvis with five other men recreated Shackleton's amazing journey from Elephant Island to South Georgia in a boat without a keel (it was a copy of the original James Caird) and then over South Georgia to the inhabited north coast. They used replica clothing, equipment and food (mostly lard, it seems). It's a story which fascinates me - but I don't think you would find me volunteering for it!

I don't know anything about this bird but it caught my eye on our way into the hall. Summerhall used to be part of the Dick Vet, the Edinburgh vet school, but is now a creative hub for the arts with studio and workshop spaces as well as exhibition spaces and a nice cafe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.