Cranmer Sq a Sea of Anzac Crosses and Poppies

It was amazing seeing all of these crosses and poppies in Cranmer Square. At first I thought I was seeing things as I was walking down the street.

It is another lovely day and a bit warmer than yesterday. They are a lot of interesting clouds around. I got a letter from the hospital today and they have reviewed my case and and are not going to do anything tests and have referred me to a speech therapist. I wonder how long that will take!
I am not happy about the decision and hope thing don't get worse.


Back to what the Crosses and Poppies are about
A Lyttelton nurse killed in World War I is amongst hundreds of World War I deaths now marked by a white cross in Cranmer Square. The crosses are part of the Fields of Remembrance project, which has established fields of named crosses in Christchurch, Dunedin, Wellington and Auckland.

The fields will reappear every Anzac Day from this year until 2018. The number of crosses will increase until there is a cross for every serviceman and woman killed in WWI. The Canterbury Province field has 632 crosses, the number of people who died in service in 1915. One of them was Helena Isdell, a 27-year-old from Lyttelton. She was one of 36 nurses on the transport ship Marquette which was torpedoed on October 23, 1915. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.