One day at a time...

By JonRayner

Higger Tor

Well, some may remember I got a christmas present for myself; a pinhole camera which was a blip back on 7th January

Well I went up into the Peaks on 10th January to learn how to use the camera and calculate the exposure time and so forth.  I didn't quite use the film up even though it was only 11 frames!.  Finally finished up the roll on the 10th April while at Peveril Castle.  Took the film in last week and finally picked it up today.

I was quite nervous and excited to see the results and I definitely did not expect anything of any use!  I remember not winding on the frame enough on some occasions, and I though I had double exposed on one frame.

However, I was pleasantly surprised, much better than I was expecting.  Of the 11 frames, 10 came back.  3 were of the Keep in Peveril castle, 2 were too blurry as it was a gale force wind that day & my tripod broke!  I got 5 that, on my first attempt, was quite pleased with.  This one was the one I preferred of them all.

The others are on my Flickr (if you have a desire to look at them).  On a couple of them in the lighter areas, there seems to be a grid pattern.  Not sure what that is, maybe I have shot the frame in-between the proper frame markers....  will have to try again!

Once the shot was in lightroom, I adjusted the:
shadows
highlights
Black point
White Point
Added a graduated filter to darken the sky slightly
Clarity
and finally a vignette

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.