See the bigger picture

By Canisp

A Gaggle of Geese

Can you spot them? Family Greylag? Is it not amazing how camouflaged they are against the seaweed and the water?

I had heard goose noises since arriving and found droppings in the garden so I knew they were around - I suspected they had nested on the island in the pond. Anyhow today on a dog walk around Badnaban Bay I heard splashing and saw this family (Family #1) disappearing around the corner. So I climbed up with Penny and saw 2 parents + 3 goslings (Family #1) swimming away ... and then I saw Family #2 (2 parents + 4 goslings) swimming ahead of them ... and then I noticed Family #3 (2 parents + 5 goslings) on the pebble beach!!! I could not believe my eyes and just sat down and watched them, camera in hand, trying to keep Penny quiet all the while (not easy). They eventually all wandered up the beach (used to us by then) to the grass verge to nibble at the green stuff. The goslings from the 3 families are all different ages. I was absolutely FAS-CIN-ATED !!! Sorry to go on...

Yet another beautiful day in Lochinver - will it EVER end? I took many pics today and may upload them yet but the Greylag Family #1 take pride of place :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.