Where the Crops Meet

10.7C at the Met.Office weather station at Leuchars (local weather station shows 16.6C) with sunny sunshine all day long. Light breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound seemed to be very tired last night. This morning after her short 7 am walk she came back upstairs, which she usually does, but when I went down for breakfast she stayed on her bed. She appeared about 9.30am and came outside when I went to water the big pots (potatoes) and the greenhouse. She stayed outside, lying in the sunshine on one of the lawns.

So, when I went for a walk about 11am (so I could be in this afternoon for the new boiler quote) I decided to leave Maeve at home. I left quietly and peeped over the fence through the beech hedge as I went past the back garden and she was still lying in the sun. I had the soundtrack to the film Local Hero on my iPod for company.

I went up to the church then continued out along the country road towards Scryne. I turned right at Craigmill farm and went down the track to the shore road. I came back along the cycle path and near the gate to the level crossing I stopped to change the music to The Band From Rockall and get a photo up towards the church opposite the point where the crops meet. I carried on in a loop, heading into Carnoustie then up the main road before turning along for home.

The heating advisor from Scottish/British Gas came around 1.30pm. With him was his supervisor. Apparently the supervisor joins the advisors for a day regularly to make sure standards are maintained. The cynic in me wonders if it was really related to me rejecting the quote from their newly trained colleague who came earlier in the week, but either way I got the benefit of their experience. Unlike their colleague they were confident in recommending a boiler type, it will go where the current boiler is situated, and it will work very well with our current mains shower. I had two or three thermostatic control units explained and was able to choose one which will suit us better than the one we have now. The quote, which was constructed on an iPad then printed for me, is a good deal cheaper than the one I got on Monday and has fewer add-ons to the inclusive installation price. I have no doubt that this was a better survey and quote than Monday's. The only thing we have to wait for is the testing of a small sample of heat resistant board from under the current boiler. If that proves to contain asbestos it is a major issue, otherwise we can go ahead and arrange installation dates.

Maeve was in and out of the garden to see what was going on and who was in her house.

E-PL5 f/11 1/640 sec. ISO-200 21mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.