March for the homeless: Norwich

I took today off so that I could take photos at this event taking place in the city centre to raise awareness of the scandal that is homelessness.  The event was one of many taking place around the UK and also, I believe, around the world.  About 100 people took part and, for me, it was great to have the opportunity to talk to people I'd never met before.

In this photo we see the Sherriff of Norwich talking to two activists.  The chap on the left of the photo is one of the organisers of the Norwich 'People's Picnic' which hands out food and essential supplies (clothing, sanitary products, toiletries) to homeless people in Norwich.  Apparently there was some concern about the Sheriff being photographed in close proximity of any placards.  Oh dear ....

There were also people there from other initiatives: Norwich Soup Run, E.A.T and from funded organisations who provide a range of support to homeless people.

You'll notice that in my text I don't use the term 'the homeless'.  That's because I find it offensive and dehumanises people with out homes.  As do terms like 'the unemployed', 'the disabled'.  All these 'groups' are made up of people and we should never forget that.

The only criticism I have

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.