ameeraj

By ameeraj

Mix

This is mix. Noor took us to this place, hidden around the back of a building. We bumped into the afternoon prayer on the way there and the mosque was so full that there were men praying in the street we needed to pass through. So we stopped and sat by for a bit. The cars passing by hold back from their beeping.

I got to see Kariakoo today, the neighbourhood my dad grew up in. The shop his parents owned, as well as the building with the name his family and subsequently he has been known by, that he grew up in, is still there. I could have stood in front of that building all day. 

Seeing it and walking the streets for a bit were only in part a look into his childhood, because so much has changed in Dar es Salaam since. But the stories I've heard every now and then since I was a kid had already created that image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.