300,000,000 years since these last saw daylight

In my element today at the Cardiff Flower Show where rocks/shale/slate/coal had been brought in for 'children' to explore.  These fossils had been  trapped in mud shale for 300 million years until I gently tapped the rock open with my hammer and chisel and exposed them for the first time to human eyes - what a thrill.  Took me right back to my childhood where, living near the Chesil Beach we would implore my mother to take us to Lyme or Charmouth after heavy rains for we knew there would have been mud slides and cliff falls and heaven knew what fossils might be found in them.  Those in charge of these rocks were equally impressed and said they were the best they had seen this year!
It may have been a flower show but it was the added attractions that caught my eye too - the owl rescue center had brought several  birds and the Dorset Forge from Sherborne had some terrific sculptures made from scrap iron  (mostly sourced from Croatia). Came back by train along with many others also carrying plant booty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.