Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Play time

The plan for today was to try to see as many of the main sights as possible.

We had breakfast at a lovely deli, took the tube to Holborn and enjoyed wandering around Covent Garden for a while. Then we walked along the Strand, and Fleet Street, to St Paul's Cathedral.  After a quick lunch, sat in the sunny Cathedral grounds, we walked across the Thames on a footbridge to look at the Globe Theatre. 

We walked along the river bank to Tower Bridge - the views were amazing - and the weather - a glorious 23C. Passing the Tower of London, Cleopatra's Needle and the Monument (I might have got some of this in the wrong order!), we found Leicester Square and bought tickets for that night's performance of The Play That Goes Wrong.

The play was hilarious and very silly. As usual, the seat in front of me was only filled a few minutes before the play started - by a 6ft man (I'm 5ft 2) so I had a great view of his head and either side of the stage until the interval, when my OH gallantly gave up his seat for me (that's why I love him).

Another fantastic day - but my feet are beginning to suffer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.