Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Sea Power

On days like today, seeing the sea like this, you catch your breath just looking at the almighty power of the thing. I have always wanted to live by the sea, and I love it in all its guises. Any tourist opening a window in the Gairloch Hotel would have had a free shower of salty froth and spray.

I went over to Udrigle to visit my friend Iseabail for the first time since her return from Australia - 4 months ago. We had a lovely lunch, despite Dimairt and Bruno almost coming to growling blows. Poor Bruno - constantly trying to kiss my dog, and getting bared teeth as a thank you. At 10, he has become a grumpy old dog.

The other purpose of today was to get Alasdair, Iseabail's son, to repair the scrape at the side of my car - for the second time. I really must try and avoid hitting my gate when I drive into the garden.

On my way to Udrigle, a car coming towards me had an SNP sticker, and I was curious to know who it was. I then noticed the next car contained my friend James from Edinburgh, and the next one had Winne and Wal, my good friends from Elgin. After much gesticulating, we finally met up at the shop and stood in the driving wind trying to catch up with news. We realised that it would be a better idea to meet next week in an eatery of some sort.

All in all, a lovely day full of friends, food, wine, weather and dogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.