Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Richard at Rest

I had the day off work on Friday as my parents were coming down for the weekend as it was my Mum's birthday earlier in the week. We decided to head into Leicester for a walk around and to visit the Cathedral to see King Richard III's tomb which has newly installed.

It is a really nice tomb cover, very understated in Swaledale Limestone with a deeply incised cross on a darker plinth which was engraved, but I think it really works. When you looked close the highly polished surface of the cover you could the remains of sea creatures and shells which were caught in the limestone.

At last Richard is at rest in a surrounding suitable for a King (even if it's not in Yorkshire)

Alternative view here.

Have a good weekend everybody and I will catch up soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.