Sunrise 5.48 a.m.

Up early today to watch the sun chase the banks of haar off the Flow and way into the Atlantic, over the back of the Hoy Hills.  What a superb day.  The snipes are drumming over the back field while peesies are whirring past.  There is a mixture of song thrush, fieldfares and redwings too.  I feel the redwings and fieldfares will soon be passing through the departure lounge.  On walking down to the sea (one minute only) I could see the tysties and hear their very high pitched seep.  The resident ravens cronked and pinked as I got too near their residence for their liking.  A few greenfinch and sparrows and going about.  There is also the call of the long-tailed ducks; every year their departure seems to get later.  We are truly blessed.  I think I’ll celebrate by cutting the grass.  CMC has played a blinder by announcing there is a batch of wholemeal scones in the oven.  It doesn’t get much better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.