Exploding Scrap Metal Wigwam!

Yesterday's neon-soaked London night-time blip may well have been on a tourist's tick-list, but I doubt if the HQ for UK TV's Channel 4, in west Westminster, would be...

Whilst looking on the street map for something else, I had noticed it marked but hadn't made any effort to actually walk past it but as my favourite way of navigation is by 'following one's nose' and getting slightly off-course (not lost!!) I looked behind me and it shone brightly in the sunshine at me.

Viewers in the UK will know all too well how their symbol "4" slowly metamorphises from objects in the environment and to finally create their '4'. As it is, only one actual viewpoint is right, where all the symbols and pieces look 'right'. This was not that position....

That position would be across the road but I wanted to use a very wide lens to emphasise that upward exploding rush. Standing in the middle of the road, in the traffic might have worked, but I don't have a death-wish...

Now, unlike more well known TV stations in London, BBC and ITV, who also have major studios in their huge complexes, there was almost no-one around the C4 building. Just literally on a street corner, next to all the old Georgian town-houses, a wonderful collection of colourful half-finished set pieces - part Blue Peter, part Scrap Metal Challenge and part James Bond, where at the end there's always a weird structure (volcano?)  somewhere impossibly exotic that opens up and from which the baddie escapes in a soup-can to evade capture for his dastardly deeds....

YES! Channel 4 are a bit different, definitely not to everyone's tastes and have made some absolutely awful but also groundmaking programmes. Unlike the committee led BBC and the ultra commercial ITV, you feel there is a sense of fun, diversity and creativity about C4. Always pushing the boundaries, championing disability and minority groups and through the likes of Film4, make and show films that have adverts where there is actually a suitable break, not like ITV who will literally cut off mid sentence (but not even return to that actual point) just cos it's revenue time....

So yes, I'm blipping this almost unknown building because I like such 'architecture' - it's very much 'me' , it looked great with a polariser and my ultrawideangle lens and because I applaud Channel 4. And, because I'm really never likely to walk that back-street again, ever!  

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8

I do hope to catch up with all your kind comments, stars and Favourites soon (thank you) as well as looking at Journals. Have a super Saturday (& Sunday) 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.