Dinner for Two

So it's threatened for some time now, but we find ourselves empty nesters. Beth is pretty much a resident of the North East, Matt back to Oxford is scheming his summer away travelling, earning money and doing things strange and other in the world of physics, Benji is settling into his 4months pre Uni tour of the planet.(photo of him on a motor bike in Vietnam today did little to calms his mums fears!).

I've always enjoyed to cook on a Sat night, turn up the music, glass of something nice, and relax into it, and have gotten out of the habit somewhat. So this evening returned to this enjoyment whilst L took DM for a walk on the moor. So the same yet different rhythms and themes.

We watched Boyhood last night, enjoyed it so much, glad I viewed it in an unhuuried quiet state. 
The idea seemed a fine one, if a bit crazy, film every year for 12 years, taking all kinds of risk on actors staying the course, young actors being any good as they grew up, no script (they wrote it collaboratively along the way). 
Some have described it as a masterpiece – I’m not sure I know what a masterpiece is but I do know that after enjoying watching it, I can’t stop thinking about it, the themes, each character growing (I was the boy, the brother, I am the dad, the mentor, I live alongside the mum and the daughter), the music too.
But best for me are the moments, the small moments that make up our lives and the growing in to adulthood and the growing in adulthood. I love how the film acknowledges them – no  more than that honours them and this for me is one the things that makes this film so special. Life without bumpers yet beautiful.
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.