The Way I See Things

By JDO

Oil seed rape

Much of England seems to be turning yellow this week - I've seen several blips of oil seed rape fields already, and I thought I'd better get mine in early too, before you're all sick of the sight of the stuff.

This road runs down to the village of Luddington in Warwickshire; I caught sight of the field and barns (one of which is up for sale as a holiday let) from the main Stratford to Bidford road yesterday evening, and went back this afternoon with the camera. It was a beautiful, bright spring day - but very windy, and surprisingly cold. The light was pretty strong, so I used a polarizing filter to bring out the colours; I especially like the fact that you can see the hedgerow greening up with young growth here.

There are three more shots from the sequence here. By the way, is it just me, or is this crop especially early this year? I know that I've photographed it in mid-May in earlier years, and I don't remember ever seeing so much of it so close to Easter before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.