Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

An Ancient Crossing

There has been a ferry crossing the River Thames at Woolwich since the 14th century, with the current free services for vehicles starting in 1889. I recall my first trip with my Little Grandad who took great delight in taking me below decks to see the engines. I believe these were paddle steamers, which puts it pre-1963 when the current "roll on roll off" service started using diesel engines.

Today we travelled to North Woolwich for shopping via the Blackwall Tunnel, another Victorian crossing, but came back via the Ferry. This is the view looking upstream to the Docklands midway across. My little compact camera struggled with the scene, so I attacked it with Snapseed, giving it a bit of a vintage feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.