26 hours after the fire started, only one road was still closed, only one fire engine left, and I saw only two fire-fighters among the many, many people pointing cameras and phones upwards.

I acquired a deep admiration for the fire and rescue service when, in a previous job, I worked fairly closely with Oxfordshire's assistant chief fire officer and I learnt more about fire-fighters' work. A comment from his successor today reminded me of their capacity to combine extraordinary bravery in the face of something ferocious with an understanding of an individual's concerns: "We were working overnight to damp down the embers. There was a wedding party, we were liaising with them and we went back in and got the rings and the floor plans. Those are small things but it's someone's special day today."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.