Katoomba's changing skyline

Bob took me off to the current exhibition at the Cultural Centre.  We usually go off together, but he recently went with my Mum but was so impressed that he wanted to go again and share it with me.

I have been a fan of John Caldwell's work for years and his exhibition didn't disappoint.  Except that I would have liked to see some of his Antarctica work which I also love.  Perhaps they felt the contrast with the other work was too great.  

David Middlebrook's exhibition was fantastic.  His take on the Grose Valley transported me there in the same way Robert Malherbe's work did when I was  at the NSW Gallery for the wynne prize.  But back to David's work, I defy anyone to be able to go to this without sitting down to take in the mammoth work of 'Folly'.  Go on. I betcha.  It's a triumph!

John's work apparently is for sale.  There is one copy of a list with the front desk.  There was a very confused discussion with staff about this - apparently it is not the centre's policy for artwork to be for sale, but it is. But we don't want to show you the list, or at least, we don't want to make it easy for you.  What's all this about????

At any rate, here's a bit of Katoomba skyline.

All things change, don't they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.