twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Woke to a clear sunny day and a mountain of work to get through before 1830 when I was expecting Sharon, Nic.O.La, Bill and Mel P for dinner.

Washing on, hoover, out, duster -well - dusted down, kitchen was scrubbed, ready for action.

Then wrote a list and headed out to the - Boatie Club? Pensioner had posted on social media (Twitt, I think it was) that he had the boat in the water and I swung by to see the old stick in the mud for a chat and a nosey round.

After offering me some fine culinary fare in the mahogany panelled club house, we sat on the leather arm chairs, chatting idly as boats flew past the window and were deposited serenely into the harbour.

I explained to him about a game I often play whilst out hill walking. You invariably park next to a works van from East Kilbride, a 4x4 Qashqui and an Astra estate (always in silver) and you then meet three groups of people out on the hill. You then have to match the groups with the transport.

So as Pensioner strode down the pontoon, I gazed in awe at the conspicuous consumption afloat around us, vessels of increasing class and opulence on show. As we strode further down the pontoon I knew which was his. A fine vessel, seaworthy and sumptuous.

Leaving him to his treasuring duties, I popped into Lidl, laid in supplies and retired back to the kitchen.

Then when all the prep was done, I hit the garden with Prosecco and olives stuffed with anchovies as the guests arrived.

Starter was seared beef stripes with a pomegranate molasses / balsamic vinegar reduction with rocket and a tomato / cucumber / red onion / sumac salad.

Main was a Persian chicken stew with saffron, oranges, fennel and barberries. Turned out amazingly well.

By the time I cleared up the remains of the flaming pineapple and mango upside down cake, doused in rum and ignited, there were empty plates everywhere.

We continued chatting into the wee small hours (Bill fled on the 19 at 1130, Nic.O.La got the 0110 N16 and Sharon fell asleep on the sofa...!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.