Orange Blossom

A strong feature of the landscape around our villa are the acres and acres of citrus plantations.  Most are oranges - in one variation or another - and the scent can be overpowering sometimes.  I am amazed at how a tree can have blossom, green fruit and ripe fruit all at the same time.

I spent a relaxed our wandering through the landscape, picking my way carefully to avoid the numerous rabbit holes and treading gently over the seemingly barren and dusty soil of the orange groves.  The orange blossom is not actually very 'white' when you get close up - dusty cream would be a more accurate description.

I came across yesterday's blip bug hanging on to a 'heathery' bush plant and have popped another image on flickr. I would love to know what it is - I know it isn't a ladybird or lily beetle, but the nearest I can get to is a black-spotted beetle.......rather vague!

Our friends departed early afternoon and our agent for the villa, Laura, called round with her family.  It was good to talk about things that weren't necessarily villa related and we know our property is in safe hands.

We are heading out early tomorrow morning towards Murcia and hope to catch the sunrise behind an interesting edifice at Monteaguda - ruin on top of a hill.  If all goes according to plan we will then head (via IKEA as I only picked up ONE bracket for the curtain pole and we need two!) to the ancient ruins of Cartagena. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.