Great Egret Fishing

At Plum Island* National Wildlife Refuge, where I hung a Galapagos photo exhibition this weekend (at the Joppa Flats Education Center), with an opening reception on Sunday. The green color of the lore (between eye and bill) indicates that the egret is in breeding mode. My ornithological email commentator noted how the image shows "the long vertebra in the middle of the neck that acts like a spear-thrower as a heron grabs its prey."
  

Edit:  *It's Parker River NWR in fact, but I'll leave "Plum Island"--that designates its location. 

Backblipped the next morning; heading back to Northampton to beat oncoming rain.

Two backblips in a row are unusual for me; the main reason was that after arrival at our hotel on Saturday my PC laptop appeared entirely dead; it wouldn't even begin to boot up when I pressed the on button. After the reception on Sunday I took it to a Staples store, and the tech person there fixed it quite straightforwardly. He removed the battery and attached the power supply--the laptop came alive and booted up fine (though laboriously, with a zillion updates). With the battery replaced it is back to normal.  Probably I had closed the cover at exactly the wrong moment when it was closing down (or going to sleep).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.