Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Duckweed and a woozy one

I’ve been on a special diet and fast in preparation for a medical test Monday, but when Sue suggested a ramble in Washington State at Conboy National Wildlife Refuge (named for a pioneer, Peter Conboy), I agreed with enthusiasm. It was a halcyon day--warm, breezy, and all a-quiver with spring leaves unfurling and sleek little garter snakes sunning and slithering. Mt. Adams stood proud at its 12,600 feet, white and snowy, stark against the blue sky. We heard the whooping of Sandhill Cranes and saw an elk, a marsh hawk, and some warblers. The two-mile walk along a canal should have been a lark, but I was woozy and a little giddy in the sun. At one point Sue asked me a question and I drew a complete blank. Couldn’t think of the word in answer. Laughing, I explained that my brain was currently unconnected to my mouth and maybe she should check back another day.

The canal was beautiful to my eyes, sinuous and sleek and dotted with marvelous duckweed (Lemnoideae) which they say is high in protein and helps to filter and clean the water. I scooped up a handful of it and examined the little filaments called “daughter fronds.” It was pleasant to give politics and people a rest for a day, but I don’t plan to make a habit of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.