Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Time for change

This has become so much part of my routine of walks I feel the need for a change. Time for some thinking.

I'm disappointed that there has been very little communication from the Polaroid Blipmasters since the takeover. The forums, or whatever we call them now, are almost silent. Existing friendships are maintained, but the way things are organised now makes following people more difficult than it was. The star and heart system promote the same old posters most of the time. If I joined today I would feel like a stranger at someone else's club.

Jonathan, one of the chaps I spent the past week with, was showing me his pages on Instagram. I don't have an iPhone or decent Android so I can't get an Instagram app, otherwise I'd happily use both that and Snapseed to tart up my pics. Blip has become something of a routine and I've spent my life avoiding too much repetition. The walks, the fishing, the yachts, even the squirrels have become very much part of a cycle. Soon it'll be the butterfly season, then the sailing. Don't get me wrong, life is good. It's just that it's become somewhat predictable. The beauty of journalism, in the old days, was its unpredictability. You never knew what was around the next corner. These days I can see what's coming.  

I had some worrying news today about one of my old school friends, Mark Sykes, a fine professional photographer responsible for images such as this one. I'm told he's very ill. Get well soon Mark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.