2.2 and 1.1

This morning, conscious of my Fitbit, I decided to take a longer route when I walked up to collect my daughters' car from Kirkby Motors after its (successful, yay!) MOT. So I went through the Horse Market, the Swine Market and the churchyard, headed out through Kearstwick and past my old cottage at Low Moorgate, and went from the very bottom of Hophouse Lane up to the A65, which is where the garage is to be found.

On Hophouse Lane there's an old decrepit barn and a couple of years ago I took a photo of it for this blog (or the previous year on Tumblr, I can't remember). As you might expect it's become a lot more rickety since then and I got a lovely shot of it today: it was so sunny and the sky was so blue that I don't think I could have taken a bad shot, to be honest.

However, this afternoon, I went up to the Swan Inn with Charlie (1.1), my eldest, and Abi (2.2), my youngest*. Even on a glorious day like today, the pub is always quiet: we were the only ones in the garden! Charlie and I caught up on each other's news while Abi played on the swing, and then we all played 'Go Fish' with the deck of cards we'd brought with us.

In the end, much as I loved my tumble-down barn photo, I couldn't resist using this one. My lovely girls.

*So, the numbering system. When I was first on Twitter, I was unsure about using my children's names, plus who would know which child I was referring to? No one would remember all their names. So, I used the first number to denote the marriage and the second to denote the child. Which seems a bit cold now I write it down but obvs it wasn't meant to be. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.