technicolour tuesday

Technicolour; brightly, showily, or garishly coloured; vividly noticeable

We have an Acer in a pot against a north-facing fence.  At this time of year, the early morning sun just catches the tops of the new leaves.  From the kitchen window, if you squint hard enough, it seems as if the otherwise dark border is on fire.  But only for a few moments.

Of course what the eye makes of all this and how the camera renders it, are two completely different things.

I’m still stuck around the house - this bug - whatever it might turn out to be - is taking its time to go, despite the best efforts of the pharmaceutical industry.  So it’s a matter of staying at a home and trying to find inspiration with the old rainy day standby - ‘snap & play with software’ - dragging curves and sliders here and there to see if anything approximates to what I see, or rather, what I think I see.

In the olden days (i.e., before digital) I would write down in a notebook all the parameters associated with taking a photograph - aperture, shutter speed, lighting conditions and so on.  Well,  perhaps not everyday - but certainly on those occasions when I was experimenting - so that when the slides came back in the post three weeks later, I would know why they were all black.  

Digital gives me instant feedback, but drives a hard bargain in the process.  There are far more parameters to play with (most of which I don’t understand).  So I’m still having to write things down.

This is not quite what I saw this morning; but it could have been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.