Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Three Hours in Cornwall

Having spent most of the day on the train to Plymouth I was keen to stretch my legs when I arrived at teatime. Dashing down to the harbour, I caught the last ferry to Cawsand, a small village on the Rame Peninsula in Cornwall.

Cornwall is one of the few British counties that I've never set foot in, so it was nice to have even this fleeting opportunity to explore a little.

With the incentive of meeting a return ferry back to Plymouth at Cremyll a few miles up the coast (last boat at 8.30) I set off along the South West Coast Path.  Once I'd left Cawsand and Kingsand behind me the route was largely through Mount Edgcumbe Country Park. The Hawthorn and Gorse were in full bloom, as were a host of other spring flowers. Although it was late in the day there were a couple of butterflies. The Chiff-chaffs were calling and as I approached the far end I saw my first Swallows of the year, as well as a LIttle Egret and Oystercatchers feeding  on the rocks.

The foot passenger ferry at Cremyll was duly caught taking me back to Devon and a walk through the Plymouth streets to my hotel. 

This view is near the start of the walk, looking back to Cawsand from its twin village Kingsand. A small taste of Cornwall but hopefully I can return one day to explore further, and to walk a bit more of the coast path. Three miles down, two hundred and fifty seven to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.