Food glorious food!

Today is my Alzheimer's support day.

There is a scheme called Fare Share that I learnt about today. Supermarkets in the area donate foods approaching their sell by dates to Fare Share and then produce is distributed amongst local charities.

So today I went, with volunteer driver Mike, from Devizes to the Salvation Army Hall in Chippenham. Fare Share arrived soon after and dropped off the food for the Alz support clubs in Devizes and Trowbridge (and other local charities).

This is the delivery to Trowbridge.

Mike and I loaded his car with Devizes and Trowbridge boxes. We then delivered to Trowbridge (had a cup of coffee and a chat) and then delivered to Devizes.

Untill recently I had not a clue such schemes existed and that so many charities are supported by lots of volunteers. I am lucky to be able to manage my job around times that suit me.

Absolutely glorious day to drive through the stunning Wiltshire countryside! .  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.