A Peep Thru the Pinhole

By Brian1943

Who was James?

I've lived in my present home, and area, for seven years now, and in all that time this roadside shrine has been maintained. It's along a minor road out of Bewdley, which is locally known as "The Switchback". It's quite a delightful road actually, and I always enjoy driving along it.

Having passed this well-maintained shrine so many times I've frequently had the urge to stop and look at it closely, but resisted because it's not in a place that's easy to stop a car. Today I did, by choosing a roadside forest clearing and just walking along the 100m or so to the shrine.

Clearly this is about a young motorcyclist who (must have) lost his life in or around this spot. I'd like to know the story behind this - just who was James? There's a note addressed to "Son" and a plaque from "Your Nan", amongst other tributes. Fresh flowers appear here frequently.

I hope it's not distasteful, but for a while I've thought about making a blip from this. My blessings go to James himself, and to his family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.