CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Kingfisher at Capel's Mill

I went looking for a kingfisher and there they were.  Yes, I saw a p[air and they both went into their nest hole in the soft sandy bank about two yards above this perch.

I arrived at the site where I have seen them nest before and another photographer was already in position and I knew what his objective was.  I noticed that he had the exactly the same camera and lens as me too.  His name is Mike and he is a now retired so only films what he wants.  

He told me that he'd seen a kingfisher and that it seemed to be returning every twenty minutes to its nest.  He had to leave not long after I'd arrived and as soon as I had taken up position a kingfisher duly appeared about twenty yards downstream and perched on a branch just above the water.  I tried to film its flight when it finally chose to approach the nest, but I failed.  It perched opposite me and  despite being in the deep shade I managed to get a few pictures.  You can see it has a small fish, probably a stickleback, which stayed in its mouth for several minutes while it stood looking about this river scene.

I am very pleased because I can now try to get even better pictures having at least got a proper kingfisher blip sorted. This one was with avery high ISO setting, as it was quite dark.  I also managed to film a delightful pair of dippers including one photo of them building their nest under a footbridge.  I shall try to blip more of that type of scene as well, in due course, possibly when the young are being fed.  It won't be long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.