Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The bee's knees - all six of 'em

Right on schedule - the cherry trees popped their first blossoms today and the bees descended.  It amazes me how there won't be a bee seemingly for miles and then - boom - as soon as the first bud pops open, hundreds of bees show up.  All kinds of bees, too ... bumble bees (like this one) as well as several types of smaller bees.  So, as tempting as it was to post a backyard bird today, I had to go with this - my first bumble bee of the summer.  Plus, I always feel pretty good when I can get one in flight - much harder to do than birds in flight, in my opinion.  

I started sorting through my photos from Savannah this weekend - as expected, many are going straight in the bin, but a few will be keepers.  I'll post a selection to Flickr in the next few days with a link.  In the meantime, if you'd like to see two other shots from today (purple finches and photo-bombing bee) along with 7 top pics from Savannah, please click HERE.

I have to say that one of my very favorite moments this weekend was watching the faces of Tero and Hilly when they saw the hummingbirds on Sunday.  As many of you know, I have an ongoing love-affair with those tiny creatures so watching other people experience them for the first time was really special.  That, more than anything, is what I will think of whenever I look at Sunday's blip of a painted bunting.  My excitement at seeing my first P.bunting was nothing compared to Hilly and Tero.  Special moments.

I got my blood work results from the doctor today and the good news is that I tested negative for RA.  The bad news is that I tested positive for Lyme.  That sucks.  So, I am starting a course of antibiotics for 3 weeks - thankfully, not the kind where you have to avoid sun!  Still, I know it is going to slow me down for a few weeks.  Not sure if I am going to be able to go to Delaware this weekend as planned - I'll figure that out in the next day.  Can't say I am surprised - and hopefully this explains the joint pain I've been having.  Have I mentioned that I hate ticks?

Dinner tonight ... poached Dover sole with roasted asparagus and a garlic potatos.  Simple and easy.  Then I am going to snuggle up with my honey for the evening!

Toodles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.