Half-birthdaya

5years 6months/182days

Five and a half years old! Now closer to six than five. Sigh.

She's working really hard on her reading at the moment. She's loving her new big girl books I bought for her and has continued with the surprising me at words she reads readily. This morning she did just that. She normally has work sent home that is "just for Katie" but it's not being happening so far this term and she was disgruntled. Her teacher came to me after school and said "I've not been able to get in to the photocopier this afternoon, so you can either wait now and I will bring her work or I can put it in her bag tomorrow". Katie made it abundantly clear she was going nowhere until it had arrived! I was grateful she showed him what I deal with at home- I'm sure they think I'm some seriously pushy mother, when in reality she is gobbling up all that they offer her and wanting them to offer her a lot more.

She sang most of the way home on the bike tonight. A lady walking by as Katie cycled past commented on how happy she seemed. At the time she was making up her own song about how fabulous being out in the sun on the bike with her mummy, near the flowers was!

She was worn out by bedtime though, she was very ready for her bed. Well, my bed.

Katie at 5 1/2 years
* is 108cm tall and 17.5 kg
* is a size 9.5e shoe
* has lost her first tooth after a fall at school
* swims in grade 5
* has started piano & rainbows, and stopped gymnastics
* now likes granola
* dislikes white chocolate and cheap milk chocolate and chocolate with anything in it except Cadbury fudge
* is obsessed by the musical Cats, and loves musicals in general
* can pick out pieces from the Nutcracker and Swan Lake in the first bar
* has danced on television for the first time
* still can't reach the bottom of the swimming pool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.