Street Art

I took only two photos today. Basil and I went to Loughborough on the bus to sit with Mr Aziz again in the Berber Shop and hear tales of his childhood.

Fascinating material for my creative writing course.

This street art, featuring Lady Jane Grey, to me has a distinctly African feel about it. She was Queen of England for nine days in the stinky mess of political intrigue in the Tudor court, after Edward VI had died, manipulated by her father and other relations.

She was beheaded at the age of 17, to prevent her from ever being the focus of machinations again. Lady Jane spent her childhood in the Tudor house at nearby Bradgate Park, one of the first brick mansions seen in the country. I suppose there were deer there then.

Old John, the folly visible in the background, was assuredly not. It was built in 1784 by the 5th Earl of Stamford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.